2.6.1 Faculty Benefits Committee

2.6.1 Faculty Benefits Committee abruneau3 Thu, 06/26/2014 - 17:39

The Faculty Benefits committee shall consist of:

  • Five (5) members of the Faculty elected by that body, including at least one member each from tenured/tenure-track, non-tenure-track academic, and research faculty;
  • Two (2) staff members designated by the Staff Council and one (1) retired faculty member designated by the Silver Jackets;
  • Two (2) non-voting ex-officio members shall include the Chair of the Statutes Committee and the elected representative to the University System Faculty Council;
  • One (1) Graduate Student selected by the Graduate Student Government Association; and
  • Three (3) ex-officio members, without a vote: a representative from the Office of Human Resources, the Vice Provost for Faculty or designee, and the Georgia Tech representative to the University System of Georgia Faculty Council.

The Chair shall be elected annually by the committee from among the elected Faculty members. The Secretary shall be appointed by the Chair from among the other members.

The Committee shall:

  • Originate or receive recommendations relative to employee benefits.
  • Review annually Institute policy, plans, and procedures on such matters as insurance, retirement, sick leave, death benefits, and vacations.
  • Review annually the general policy of the Institute with regard to wage scales, working conditions, and other matters of a similar nature pertaining to non-professional employees.
  • Make a comprehensive review of the complete insurance program at least every fifth year.
  • Promote the development of facilities for the benefit of Faculty and Staff members.